contact lenses

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by Angie812, Jan 1, 2008.

1. Angie812

Angie812 New Member

I've been wearing glasses for many years mostly for reading, but now I need them nearly all the time. I'm going soon to get my eyes checked and hopefully new prescription, but I am interested in maybe getting contacts. Just wanted to get some advice/feedback on whether or not to try them. Also, how does that work? I mean, do you order some for the month, year or what? I know that there are all different kinds, too. Do they have contacts for those who may need bifocals?

I appreciate any feedback you all have.

2. Khalyal

Khalyal New Member

and I love them. I tried to wear them 6 or 7 years ago and they were awful, but they have been hugely improved since then.

I did tell me doctor that I am not a ship's captain and do not need to see the horizon, and had him adjust them so that the difference between my upclose vision and far vision wasn't so huge. I see well enough, but not 20/20.

Since I spend most of my life in cyberspace, it was most important to me to be able to see the computer screen, and secondarily to be able to drive. They seem to allow me to do exactly what I asked for.

If your eyes are not TOO bad, they can also give you one lens for distance and one for up close. I tried that for a while and it worked until my eyes got worse. Then it made me dizzy.

Good luck!
  3. disconcerted

disconcerted New Member

but now i have CFS my immune system is so damaged that i get a bad reaction to having them in my eyes. It's as if they are foreign bodies that need tears to wash them away.