Coping with friends & family responsibilities - HOW?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by butterfly83, Nov 4, 2005.

1. butterfly83

butterfly83 New Member

How do you guys cope with the responsibilities you have to your friends and family members?

I'm having a really hard time lately trying to keep up with everyone's expectations. I know people are just being nice, and its nice that they want me around and included in their lives, but certain times (like now, when I've been flaring for a few months) its really difficult to keep up with doing 'normal' things. Long car trips, long days, sometimes even SHORT trips are just out of the question. My body just completely shuts down, I get sick (naseous, shakey, weak, and in a lot of pain), and have to cut the trip short anyway. So if I have to say no i'm dissapointing people, and if I say yes when i'm really not up to it, something happens and the day can't go as planned. Again - dissapointing. It's just really hard to cope with dissapointing other people, AND myself because i would really like to be normal.

How do you cope with these normal people things that you just can't do?
  2. 57Wagon

57Wagon New Member

butterfly83 the life style changes have been hard for me also. I'm now learning to say no, you have to look after number one or you will pay big time as you know.
  3. fivesue

fivesue New Member

You couldn't even do that if you were healthy! I know because I have lived most of my life trying to do that, and it just doesn't work...it makes me crazy and it has probably contributed to my general health at this stage of my life.

So, as one who knows, please try to consider how you are feeling and making it as important as others. Now, I know that sounds selfish...that's what I think when I do this myself. But, if I don't, I can't really help anyone...I can less meet people's needs and expectation let alone get better.