Cortisone Injections Helful?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Twain1973, Aug 30, 2003.

1. Twain1973

Twain1973 New Member

I was just curious if anyone has received cortisone injections (in tissue - not joints). I received my first injection yesterday. Do they help? I was hoping for relief from fatigue and muscle pain.

Thanks!
    Amy
  2. Juloo

Juloo Member

I can tell you I've had a couple of odd experiences that I have somehow, in my mind, linked to the injections. Background -- four years ago, then again three months ago (different sides), I've had problems with bone spurs/rotator cuff problems in my shoulders. After my first injection four years ago, the very next day I had a very weird episode of road rage -- that's the only way to put it. I'm a pretty relaxed driver, so it sort of scared me.

Then just recently, after a couple of years of very regular cycles, another injection, then I had a three-week long period. Scary! That had never happened before.

My body, for some reason, is just very, very sensitive to fluctuations in hormones -- and no matter how many times my orthopedist says the injections are local, I do believe that they act systemically for me.

Incidentally, they did make the pain go away!
  3. klutzo

klutzo New Member

I had lots of them into tender points when I first got sick. They usually made me worse for two days, then better for about 3 weeks. After awhile they stopped working. They are not good for you anyway, and many patients report that xylocaine injections work just as well. Some even report that dry needling works, because the pain from the needle uses up the excess substance P at the tender point. (substance P is the neurotransmitter for pain, and is elevated in fibro patients).
    Recently, I had cortisone in the ER for an allergic reaction to bug bites. I became enraged and depressed for about 2 weeks afterwards. This makes me think my natural cortisone level is too high right now.