costochondritis- this one is for the ladies

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by spike, Oct 22, 2002.

1. spike

spike New Member

This is my first time so be gentle - If any of you are
    larger-breasted women and suffer with major costochondritis or as it is called when there is swelling Tietze's Syndrome,
    have you heard whether breast reductions have been successfull in aleviating some of the pain/swelling?
    I am considering same and really don't want to undergo the surgery unless it is going to help significantly. Thankls a bunch.
  2. spike

spike New Member

This is my first time so be gentle - If any of you are
    larger-breasted women and suffer with major costochondritis or as it is called when there is swelling Tietze's Syndrome,
    have you heard whether breast reductions have been successfull in aleviating some of the pain/swelling?
    I am considering same and really don't want to undergo the surgery unless it is going to help significantly. Thankls a bunch.
  3. poodlegirl

poodlegirl New Member

Sorry, I have no info or answers for your question, but did want to say hi and maybe someone knows on here!:)
  4. wallie

wallie New Member

I had Costro. about ten years ago. I really feel that it was a symptom of FMS and only came on when i was stressed. My doctor told me to take three 200mg of Ibuprophen, and it usually went away with that. After the costro went away after about two years, I started getting the Migraines, then the wide spread pain all over.
    wallie
  5. epicurean

epicurean New Member

I have pain all the time-last week so bad that I was in bed most of the week.I have no swelling,so reduction would be meaningless because pain is deep in muscles of chest wall,and mostly connective tissue in between ribs.
  6. kayfrey

kayfrey New Member

I have Costro and I also am small breasted so I don't see how large breast would make any difference. It is a muscle and ligament thing.