Curious about Treatments

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Aeryn, Jun 17, 2003.

1. Aeryn

Aeryn New Member

I need treatment advice: I have recently been diagnosed with FMS. I have had it since I was 10 years old (40 now), diagnosed as something else of course. My main problem is sleep. I do not sleep through the night, ever. Pain in my joints is a problem inasmuch as it keeps me from sleeping. I can live with the daytime pain, although I am sure it wears on me. I also dream loudly and too much, no deep sleep.

I have a lot of stress that cannot be changed by cutting back. My husband is mentally ill and needs a lot of care, no relatives around. I am a professor at a liberal arts college and the school year is a 12 hour a day job or more. Enormous stress and anxiety hits me from the job, but at the same time I absolutely love it and would do nothing else with my life.

Doctor put me on desipramine which quieted the dreams for a while then didn't really work much anymore.

He suggested I try Effexor, but ho boy, that felt like the tail end of an acid trip. Won't take that again.

We can add prozac to the desipramine. I tolerate prozac just fine, took it once a few years back during a bad emotional spell when my husband first got sick and it was a life-saver. Maybe that with the desipramine would do the job.

I also have some NASA sleep foam coming. Been too cheap to buy it until now, but my husband forced me to.

I figure if I can just get some sleep, I can make this work. The pain is bad but doable during the day. I do much better in the summer I think because I do not have the job anxiety on top of everything else.

Any suggestions? I should say that I do not want to take melatonin or prescription sleep drugs (except in dire need).

Thanks Aeryn

2. judywhit

judywhit New Member