Cymbata Dosage - What's right?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Toga, Oct 5, 2005.

1. Toga

Toga Member

I got my Cymbalta Rx today. I'm to take 20 mg. a day. There are 60 pills in the bottle.

It cost $200.99. We still haven't gotten our ins numbers so we had to pay out of pocket and are to reimbursed, less copay later.

I have just finished a Milnacipran Drug Study. I hurting pretty bad. Been off all meds (for FM) for only two days.

Those of you on Cymbalta, did you start on this small a dose? I thought 30 mg. was the usual starting dose.

Another question - The bottle says it may cause sleepiness. I had thought it might give me a little more energy.

Thanks for the input.

Toga
  2. JLH

JLH New Member

My doctor prescribed the Cymbalta for me. I started off at 30 mg/day for 2-3 weeks, then went up to 60 mg/day.

However, when I went to the 60 mg, it started making me really sleepy all day. I stayed with it for 3 days, but I couldn't stand being so sleepy, even though I am retired and not working.

So, what I did was .... take 30 mg in the morning, and take the other 30 mg at night. This worked for me! Not sleepy during the day and still getting the 60 mg in.

To be able to do this, you have to ask your doc to write the prescription for 30 mg capsules, and to take them 2 x day -- otherwise, if he writes 60 mg daily, they will fill it with 60 mg capsules and you will not be able to take them morning and night, or just cut back to 30 mg only if you need to.

I have a daughter who is a physician. I always check with her after EVERY doc visit that I go to!! Kind of for a second opinion!!

Anyway, she OK'd the 60 mg dosage a day. In fact, that is what she said is the recommended dosage for fibro treatment.