Dealing With Employers

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Newswoman, Nov 13, 2002.

1. Newswoman

Newswoman New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this message board, and I am wondering how you handled telling your employer that you have fibro. Out of the blue, the fatigue has popped up again. It's extremely difficult for me to concentrate, and it's become worse over the past week or so. I work in a pretty laid back atmosphere, so I don't think it would be a problem if I asked to work at home some days. How have you handled this on your job?

I would like to wait to broach this subject once I've gotten through my probation period (that's next month, but I really don't know if I can last that long. I've been here less than 90 days, and legally it would be a lot harder for be to be let go once I'm a permanent employee.

For those of you still working, what type of work do you do? Did you have to switch careers, and did you tell your employer? Did you tell them right away, or did you tell them when you had a flare-up?

2. Newswoman

Newswoman New Member

Hello Everyone,

I am new to this message board, and I am wondering how you handled telling your employer that you have fibro. Out of the blue, the fatigue has popped up again. It's extremely difficult for me to concentrate, and it's become worse over the past week or so. I work in a pretty laid back atmosphere, so I don't think it would be a problem if I asked to work at home some days. How have you handled this on your job?

I would like to wait to broach this subject once I've gotten through my probation period (that's next month, but I really don't know if I can last that long. I've been here less than 90 days, and legally it would be a lot harder for be to be let go once I'm a permanent employee.

For those of you still working, what type of work do you do? Did you have to switch careers, and did you tell your employer? Did you tell them right away, or did you tell them when you had a flare-up?