Dealing with the depression

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mnweb6, Aug 21, 2006.

1. mnweb6

mnweb6 New Member

Hi everyone...I haven't posted on here for a long time, partly because I lost my internet connection for a while, and because I was trying to forget that I had FM. I graduated from Cosmetology school over a month ago, and ever since, the depression has just overwhelmed me! I have never been the type of person to go more than a day without a shower, and now I am finding any excuse to cancel any appointment...doctor's included, and even going outside. I have taken a total of 3 showers over the past 2 weeks...I don't have the energy. Nothing makes me happy, and just thinking of that makes me even more depressed.

I am scheduled to have Gastric By-Pass surgery on August 31st, and maybe the anxiety of this is causing the additional depression. I was encouraged for a couple of day's when I found out that a study found that overweight people with FM that had this surgery 92% had a significant decrease in pain and increase in quality of life. I just don't know what my life is going to be like after.

I rememeber when I first found this site, I was feeling similar feelings (depression), so I thought I would post and hopefully start feeling better...

Thank you for listening! I kinda feel a little better just posting it...

One of the things that is bothering me is that my pain has increased, and my doctor refuses to up my doses of pain meds because of my upcoming surgery. I do understand this, but it doesn't make the pain stop. I am scared of the pain after surgery. I hope that they understand the FM stuff, and don't label me a drug seeker...I may have to stay in the hospital for a week, and I am afraid to be alone. I don't have family, and I am afraid that no one will come and see me.