Deciding whether to pursue a parttime job or apply for SSDI

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by annade, Jun 11, 2008.

1. annade

annade New Member

I am currently trying to decide if I should pursue a part-time job (I am a School Psychologist) or apply for SSDI. My rheumy has already told me, in conjunction with a neuropsych. eval., that he would consider me disabled at this time. I took a battery of cognitive, memory and processing speed tests. I did well the first two hours and then my skills significantly dropped due to mental fatigue. We had to stop the testing after 2 1/2 hours because I could literally not think. This was useful info. for me as I am trained in giving most of these types of tests and know exactly what they are measuring. I did feel a bit stupid at the end and even cried about my lack of ability to concentrate, remember and process info., that I used to be so good at seven years ago.

Anyway, I am really not sure if I would be considered disabled enough to receive SSDI, but I don't think I will be able to pursue a job in my field of expertise (which I loved by the way). I suppose I could get a part-time job that wasn't so dependent on memory and reasoning skills. I am not sure if you have to be completely nonfunctioning to receive SSDI or just not able to function in your current occupation. If anyone has any answers to this, please let me know.

I know I will probably need to consult an attorney, but am not sure I am ready for the whole SSDI ordeal(or the label). I keep hoping I will be able to go back to work as a School Psych. part-time, not looking likely as of yet.

This has been the hardest part of this illness for me. I feel like I am losing the battle although I try to remain hopeful. Thank you for any input you might have.

2. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member

I think the choice is a very personal one. Many people have no choice. Either way - some have to work, some simply cannot.