Define "flare up"...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by DipseyNoodle, Sep 10, 2003.

1. DipseyNoodle

DipseyNoodle New Member

I have mentioned in some posts that I'm new to all this. Would someone define flare up? I curious if what I'm experiencing is a flare up or this is the best it gets when not in flare up. I have had days where I've cried all day because of the pain. Now I feel more of a heaviness in arms and pain in the shoulder and back. It could be worse, but it sure could be better.

Thanks for your help,
    Melissa
  2. PVLady

PVLady New Member

Maybe flare ups are different for everyone, but for me it is the beginning of an especially bad number of days where my pain is very bad and I come to a stand still. It starts gradually and gets really bad before it gets better.
  3. Susan07

Susan07 New Member

If the pain makes me cry and feel deep, deep despair then I feel like it's a flare. This is the first year I've actually missed days at work! Boy was that scary, thankfully I feel "better".
  4. michaele

michaele New Member

I have been diagnosed with FM for 2 years. Out of those 2 years, I have been OUT of a flare up (or in remission)only a few weeks (like one week at at time) only about 10 times AND I did have a 2 month remission this past Spring. (that was GREAT!) So, I almost live in a flare. It is like the pain intensifies to the point of actually crying, no pain meds seem to work all the way, you ache all over and have some extremely tender areas, you are greatly fatigued, irritable, go from bed to recliner, and back. Hard to move much due to stiffness, your brain is in perpetual fogginess, and there is depression. I am truly frustrated on WHY I don't seem to come out of flares very often. Once in a while, it seems to let up for a couple of hours, but that's it. Everyone is a little different, but that's how mine are. When you are in a flare-------you know it.
    Good luck,
    Michaele
  5. IgotYou

IgotYou New Member