Denyed SSDI 2-5 and now Doc. says maybe I ought to try finding a

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Betty50victor, Mar 11, 2003.

1. Betty50victor

Betty50victor New Member

job in another field. Now, if that don't beat ALL! I had dr. appt. today (internal medicine doc cause rhume just keeps telling me "Yes you have fibro....What do you want me to do now?") Talk about being fed up!
    My Doc. knows that my hands stiffen up when I try to do anything with them, can't stand for longer than 10-15 minutes, arms hurt and feel swollen doing the smallest task, can't walk more than half a block without major pain and if I sit longer than 15-20 minutes I get very stiff and it's hard to get up and try to walk. So, do you think that was fair of him to tell me to go back to work? I was a machinist/off. mgr. (jack of all trades at shop) for 25+ yrs. He knows, first hand, how much my body hurts. He checked pressure points in shoulders, neck, chest, etc. All very painful! But, when he pushed on the outer sides of both my hips at the same time....(we were standing, me in front of him) It was SOOO painful that I fell back against him, my sunglasses flew off my head and he had to physically help me sit down. He asked, get this, if it hurt and if I was ok................................DUH
    Well, I started crying, which I don't like to do, and told him that's why I'm sooooooooooo depressed, duh! I asked him how he'd feel if his life and independance was taken from him. Well, as I was giving him one hell of a time, while crying, he just sat there and was mostly looking down. It was weird, cause when I finally composed myself he looked up and his eyes were red. Guess he really cared but he kept saying that there must be something I could do.