Depakote drug and now stuttering, very scary, help please?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by shelby319, Jan 8, 2007.

1. shelby319

shelby319 New Member

Does anyone use this drug Depakote, which is a anti-seizure med like many other people use here on the board?

The reason I'm asking, is my Dr. put me on this to help with the pain I get during the day and to take the place of breakthrough meds with Ms Contin 30 mgs twice a day.

I started this drug a couple of days ago and now I'm starting to loose my speech and stutter when I talk!! Its not only scary but bothersome to say the least. If this med does this, will all the other anti-seizure meds do the same thing to me, like Neurontin, and all the other drugs in this family?

I'm just beginning to feel like a volunteer for trying everything out on the market so they don't give me any breakthrough meds in the narcotic family, and so far, each one I've had a reaction to!! Now what? Is there any other drug that might work? I know everyone is different, but I think I've tried them all in the anti-seizure family of drugs!!

Any suggestions please?
    Gentle hugs,
    Shelby
  2. HurtsToMove

HurtsToMove New Member

I don't have any real suggestions for you, but I do want to say that you can't assume that ALL the anti-seizures would effect you the same. The only way to know is to try them out, one by one, until you get the right drug for you. It does take alot of trial and error, not to mention patience, but hopefully you'll find a really good fit.

I'm going to ask for Lyrica this week, since it helps alot of people. I was also on Neurontin in the past with no side effects at all. These two are very closely related. Why not ask your doctor about one of these?
    Or else one of the new anti-depressants like Cymbalta?

Anyway, I would definitely call your doctor about the stuttering. Don't want to scare you even worse, but it can't be normal!
  3. applecrisp

applecrisp New Member