Do I have CFS? (First Post)

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by newstarter, Apr 22, 2006.

1. newstarter

newstarter New Member

Hi All,

I'm a 33 year old professional managing to survive in San Francisco, but just barely. I've read quite a bit about CFS but am not sure if I "qualify".

I've worked and lived in a few places around the City over the last ten years, but have always felt the same fatigue/malaise. I get off work on Friday, come home and collapse. I hang out in bed on Saturday (like I'm doing now), and by Sunday am feeling a bit better. Monday at work is OK, but Tuesdays onward are awful.

I know my immune system is weak, and I always feel like I have some kind of bug. Symptoms include sore throats and stomach pains, but nothing completely debilitating. Exercising (bike rides, going to the gym) makes me feel awful. No depression or other mental issues whatsoever, and I don't get headaches or muscle soreness, and can usually sleep pretty well. Friends complain that I am “always sick”. Coworkers joke that I’m allergic to work. Increased stress worsens the symptoms. I did have a severe bought mono (Epstein Barr) in high school.

I could go to the doctor about all this, but my health insurance is through a big HMO, and the doctors aren’t very good, and are not trained to spend much time on “soft” illnesses that can’t be easily treated.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m considering abandoning my career and life and heading to some rural area where I can live simply and cheaply. But that seems like a drastic solution. OTOH I’m not sure how much longer I can continue this way.

Nick
  2. UnicornK

UnicornK New Member

I would recommend seeing a rheumatologist. If you check out the post "So nervous" there is a list of symptoms for you to discuss. If you do have CFS, there are treatments.

Good luck and God Bless.
    [This Message was Edited on 04/22/2006]
  3. Pianowoman

Pianowoman New Member

Nick,