Do I Still Have Fibro?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Aberlaine, Jan 21, 2011.

1. Aberlaine

Aberlaine Member

I was diagnosed as having Fibromyalgia six years ago. My doctor eliminated everything else, a rheumatologist located my tender points. At the time I had widespread pain and was taking Ultracet several times a day.

I don't have major pain anymore. I've stopped taking Ultracet and now only take meloxicam for arthritis. But I still have major exhaustion, fibro fog, unrefreshed sleep and poor cognitive functioning.

Do I still have fibromyalgia? I know there's no cure. So what's going on?

PITATOO Member

What has changed in your life? Sleeping better, less stress. You may or may have not had FMS but it sounds like it. I have been battling this for 16-17 years and it goes up and down, not saying it will come "back" for you. But maybe you are managing your sleep, life and stress better. Not sure what meloxicam is but could it help with pain of FMS? Hard to say. Just knock on wood and enjoy the "new" you. But try not to overdue it and try to find factors that may have caused flares in the past and be aware of them. But if you still have the fibro fog and sleep I'm leaning towards a remission of the pain aspect.
  3. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member

Fibro doesn't go away - so you either didn't have it or you are in a really good place that I'd just be thankful for. I've had Fibro for about 27 yrs I've figured now. Only diagnosed for 4 years.

I did however have some really good years with only some manageable aches and pains - nothing that was horrible by any means. I always chalked up the way my body felt just to the way I was, what was normal for me, including my sleep issues.

When things got really bad about 7 yrs ago one Dr. tried me on some different meds for pain - then certain issues led me to a different Dr., then a rheumy who confirmed the suspected diagnosis.