Do you ever feel like pain is "in your bones"?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by steach, Sep 1, 2009.

1. steach

steach Member

Hi My Friends-

Do you ever feel that you have pain in your bones when you have FM?

My rheumy dx osteoarthritis in my hands- could it be spreading to the rest of my body? Even in the "soft tissue" places?

I have been doing alot of work at home, such as painting my living room, etc., and afterwards, I pay for days. I feel like every muscle, tissue, and bone in my body hurts.

2. HarleyRidingGal

HarleyRidingGal New Member

Hi Steach!

I'm new to this message board and saw your post and thought I would respond.

Being a piano player, of course where did the arthritis show up first? In my wrists! This was in my mid 20s. It did seem to spread to other joints over the years. My knee, my hip, my back and my neck. At the time, I was told that more than likely once diagnosed with arthritis, it would eventually spread. I don't know if that statement is correct, medically, but I do know that has been my experience over the years. Almost like an opportunity for it to go to other places in the body.

I'm unsure if the pain we feel like that is osteo. Sometimes it feels like I want to jump out of my skin, like a neuropathy-type of pain. It feels stabbing but inside my bones.

I'm so sorry that you have this type of pain.

There are different ways that I, myself, deal with this type of pain and I'm sure that others have their ways as well. Sometimes it lasts for minutes and other times for a few days.

When I can, I try like the dickens to use mind over matter and keep myself occupied. Not "busy work" types of things but just a simple cartoon or a funny movie or even talking on the telephone. It just seems as though if I clean or try something physical, my mind only concentrates more on the pain.