doctor coming from disability living allowance

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by DragonBall, Apr 12, 2003.

1. DragonBall

DragonBall New Member

ive got a message today that a doctor will be coming to assess me to see if i can get any money. i had to leave work last november. has over people had to go through this, and how did it go?.MUCH apprciated.
  2. loonie

loonie New Member

Hi, DragonBall:

Welcome to the board. I have no help for you, as I have no disabity allowance experience.

The board is "on the run" this AM, so I am replying so your message will be "bumped" to the top of the list.

Good days, loonie
  3. leokat

leokat New Member

I live in the UK. It was 16 months ago. I hadn't even thought I might be entitled to anything until someone pointed out to me that I was practically house bound (a great one for self denial me). Anyhow I applied.

At first I got DLA on the strength of a doctors form and didn't have to see anyone else. The form was complicated though and I was afraid no one would understand how I can be unable to do anything sometimes and quite active (well for me anyhows) at others. I went through the form bit by bit and just told it like it is as best I could. I was awarded the highest level for the mobility component of DLA but nothing for the care allowance. This is a bit unfair as there are days when I can't care for myself but there you go.

Then after six months I was told I would be asked to attend for an assessment with a DSS doctor. That was when my nightmare began. They apparently sent me two appointments, neither of which I attended (well I wouldn't would I as I knew nothing about them). I phoned and wrote to the disability centre and made a complaint. Eventually my benefit was reinstated but not after I experienced a whole lot of stress and financial probs.