Doctor's guest opinion on the "Fail First" policy

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Missizzy, Oct 5, 2008.

1. Missizzy

Missizzy New Member

Hi all--I noticed this fine opinion piece today in the Medford, OR Mail Tribune of October 5th. Dr. Greene is a local doctor. I have no experience with him but I do find his commentary timely. For those searching for a doctor in Southern Oregon, he might be worth a try. I admire him greatly for speaking up on this issue.

Insurers' 'fail first' policies serve no one

By By Rudy Greene, M.D.
    October 05, 2008 6:00 AM
    We've all heard that Oregon has more than half a million uninsured residents. We also know that barriers to access to medical care exist not only in the uninsured but often in the underserved, poor and disabled populations and those who live in rural areas without adequate medical services. And barriers to access also hit those who cannot advocate for themselves.

But even Oregonians who have adequate insurance coverage and can obtain medical care face another bear of a barrier. That barrier to treatment is the insurance company.

My fellow physicians and I are increasingly frustrated at the undermining of our judgment, diagnosis and/or prescriptive treatment. Daily, we grow more worried as we watch insurance company employees play doctor.

This past month, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy considered this very issue.

Consider the scenario of a typical patient who has fibromyalgia. As a patient who is insured by a major health insurer, she visits her doctor on multiple occasions with specific and nonspecific symptoms.

After ruling out several possibilities, her physician diagnoses her with fibromyalgia and prescribes a targeted therapy, one of two FDA-approved drugs to treat fibromyalgia. The insurer denies coverage for the prescription and mandates that the patient must "fail first" at other less expensive, non-targeted, non-FDA approved therapies.