Does Anybody Else Experience This?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dhcpolwnk, Oct 12, 2002.

1. dhcpolwnk

dhcpolwnk New Member

When I go from a cold environment (for me, that can be 68 degrees or even sometimes higher) to a warm/hot one--especially a hot shower--I've noticed that my blood vessels seem to stand out in a sort of reddish color against the rest of my skin for a while. This happens primarily on my legs, but sometimes also on my arms. Except for the blood vessels, the rest of my skin is either normal color or slightly blue. This lasts for a while after the shower, and then everything returns to normal. When I've asked the docs about it, they say it's because I have small capilaries close to the skin.

Maybe that's all there is to it, but I'm still new to fibromyalgia, and I've seen messages on this board about cold sensitivity and "spider veins." So I'm just wondering whether my experience seems familiar to anybody else.

--Laura
    [This Message was Edited on 10/13/2002]
  2. dhcpolwnk

dhcpolwnk New Member

When I go from a cold environment (for me, that can be 68 degrees or even sometimes higher) to a warm/hot one--especially a hot shower--I've noticed that my blood vessels seem to stand out in a sort of reddish color against the rest of my skin for a while. This happens primarily on my legs, but sometimes also on my arms. Except for the blood vessels, the rest of my skin is either normal color or slightly blue. This lasts for a while after the shower, and then everything returns to normal. When I've asked the docs about it, they say it's because I have small capilaries close to the skin.

Maybe that's all there is to it, but I'm still new to fibromyalgia, and I've seen messages on this board about cold sensitivity and "spider veins." So I'm just wondering whether my experience seems familiar to anybody else.

--Laura
    [This Message was Edited on 10/13/2002]
  3. fp3657@aol.com

fp3657@aol.com New Member