Does anyone else feel like a failure ??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by susabar, Jan 29, 2003.

1. susabar

susabar New Member

perhaps this is part of the acceptance process but that is how I am feeling lately. I am really having a difficult time of it psychologically. ( I am seeing someone and on meds too ) Did you go through this when you were trying to come to terms with this illness ??

Thanks
    Sue
  2. Lendi

Lendi New Member

I'm new to this too. And, yes I feel like I'm not only failing on my normal activities, but also failing my family. I feel so sad and useless. I hope it gets better with time and that I can accept that my life may not get back to normal. I'm trying so, so hard, but everything I try, well just fails.
  3. Rich333

Rich333 New Member

Had to let you know I have had those feelings for so many years. It's not just the big stuff. You feel like you fail at housework, at driving in traffic (scarey) and so many little tasks. I look around and see mountains of unfinished tasks at our house.

But then I have to remind myself: You're sick you idiot. Of course things are going to go wrong. This is a huge disease you have and there are going to be big problems. I have found over the years that it's true what they all say: find something small you can do and try to feel good about that.

Still it's painful to have that failure feeling. I get it a lot.

Hang tough,

Richard.
  4. ssMarilyn

ssMarilyn New Member

I felt like that because it was such a drastic change in my life. I went from being a very tomboyish, active, athletic, hard-working person to a couch potato. I felt lousy, but got over it! You will too, when you finally realize you don't have any choice but to accept and make the best of it.

Marilyn :)
  5. ohmyaching

ohmyaching New Member