Does anyone have pain near their sternum?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TiffanySE, Jan 30, 2009.

1. TiffanySE

TiffanySE New Member

Hi everyone! I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia when I was a freshman in High School. I started having pains though when I was in the sixth grade, but doctor after doctor kept telling my mom I was making it up and to stop listening. There is still one pain that doctors have yet to explain to me and I was hoping someone on here could at least relate to what I am going through or might be able to explain it to me. In sixth grade I called my mom at work telling her I thought I was having a heart attack. All I knew was my chest hurt and it was really bad when I breathed. I would just sit and cry all the time due to the pain. Now as a 22 year old I can describe the pain a little better. My pain is around my sternum bone and it comes on VERY shortly after I hold something of little weight for a few minutes. I held my newborn baby cousin for minutes and I had to put her down. Sometimes it will come on when I am doing ordinary everyday things that dont involve holding things in my arms. If anyone experiences this or knows what it is I would greatly appreciate the knowledge!!
    Thanks, Tiffany
  2. kat0465

kat0465 New Member

yep, sounds just like Costocondroitis( Probably misspelled) i have that and it is terribly painful, lifting & pulling on things will make it worse!! you can google it, or there are posts on here about it. just do a search and you'll find tons of stuff. it's scary i know cause it is right in the middle of your chest!! at times i cant even touch my sternum it hurts so bad!!! not much to do for it but, time & pain meds, also some heat helps me. good luck, and your definately not alone!! Kat
  3. wildwoodlane

wildwoodlane Member