Does anyone here have Sjogrens? and/or wear dentures

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by ckball, Feb 2, 2008.

1. ckball

ckball New Member

I was dxs with Fibro and CFS about 4 years ago, but now my eye Dr thinks I have Sjogrens, I failed the eye moisture test and have had dry mouth for many years after I had chemo for cancer and my dentist at the time said the chemo destroyed my salivia glands.

Now after researching it more, I think that may be my problem. I had a recent MRI/CT of the spine and my discs are affected and now the facets are affected too. It is like my body is just drying up.

I have been wearing dentures for 15 months and got my final pair last week and they do fit better than my last but my gums, especially the lowers under the tongue area just get raw if I wear them longer than a few hours a day.

I had to wear them 2 long days in a row and they are just so sore I can't bear to think about putting them in.

Any advice or stories- I am waiting to get into the Rhuemy for more follow up but that is not until next month. Thanks-Carla
  2. littlebrownwren

littlebrownwren New Member

A family member has dentures.

Buy yourself some fixodent and read how much to use.

It will stop your dentures from moving around and you'll be able to wear them a lot longer without them rubbing your gums raw.

I told someone about this a few yrs ago and they used too much and they laughed for weeks about how it took them an hour to get them back out.

3. ckball

ckball New Member

Thanks - but I already do, but Polygrip works the best. But I still get sore spots if I wear them more than a few hours. I got my first pair in Sept 06 and hated them, now I have the final pair, while they do look nice because of the dry mouth and no saliva they are giving my gums fits.

Thanks for the reply and and I hope you are doing better. Carla
  4. deb0531

deb0531 New Member