Does anyone know is SPELT wheat?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mer66, Mar 5, 2007.

1. mer66

mer66 New Member

I just bought a box of cereal, on the box it says SPELT flakes I really don't know what spelt is but in the ingredients it does not say wheat and so I thought I was buying cereal with nothing containing wheat, then when I got it home I noticed that there is a picture of wheat on it,and when I googled Spelt it said a sub species of wheat, please excuse my ignorance but I am very new to all this,and if anyone could let me know that would be a great help!
    Maria
  2. pw7575

pw7575 New Member

Here is an article on Spelt that I found. Hope this helps you.

Take Care,
    Pam

Popular in Europe for centuries, Spelt is used in a wide variety of cereals, pastas, crackers, baked goods, and beers. The ancient Romans knew it as "farrum", Italians now call it "farro"; today's Germans know it as "dinkle." Spelt has been used successfully, under physicians' supervision, as a wheat substitute for people who have wheat allergies. Once commonly grown in North America, Spelt was replaced at the beginning of this century by modern wheat varieties which are more suited to the high volume production techniques currently used on most American farms. Spelt's flavorful, "nutty" taste has proven to be an attractive alternative to the common varieties of wheat, so much so that spelt production in North America has increased nearly 80-fold in less than a decade.

Spelt vs. Wheat