Does anyone Meditate??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by scoobydoo, Sep 6, 2003.

1. scoobydoo

scoobydoo New Member

Can anyone tell me anything about meditation? Does it work? What's the best type? Can you learn it on your own? It's late and brainfog has taken over so I can't think of any more questions. LOL!!

Anyway, it seems like something I'd like to try but, unless it can be self taught I'm out of luck because there's nothing around here but Hillbilly's. :) (and i'm one of them) There's no such thing as meditation, yoga or anything else in this neck of the woods.

I'd appreciate any knowledge you guys have. I'm hoping a little mind over matter will work, at least a little, medicine doesn't seem to help a whole lot lately.

((((((HUGS))))))))))

Scoobydoo
  2. IntuneJune

IntuneJune New Member

Yes, I do, and should be doing it more often! When I first seriously tried meditation, my fibro symptoms were MUCH worse--(they are still bad) I took a class. And then tried another class. Nothing. I ended up walking around the room while everyone else seemed to be off in la-la land.

After I got some help with the pain through myofascial release, and retried meditation, in a small group, it worked. But then I could not do this at home by myself until I tried one CD which seems to totally relax me, slow my breathing down and allow my mind to "drift." The name of the CD is "Returning" by Jennifer Berezan. I feel totally relaxed and when I open my eyes, I feel as though I have had restful sleep or been on a vacation, etc. You get the drift. I gave this CD to the gal who led that meditation group, she is also a Reikie (sp?) master and called me a few months later to tell me she has had wonderful results with this CD.

There are guided meditation CDs,but I am not familiar with them but since you do not have access to other modalities, these may help.

Good Luck, June
  3. mycatprint

mycatprint New Member