Does FM actually do damage to joints, muscles, etc.?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Ouch4017, Mar 14, 2007.

1. Ouch4017

Ouch4017 New Member

I've been doing so much research on FM because for myself, knowledge, support from my family, and this website are helping me make it thru. I feel like my FM is winning right now. I'm in my first year and still trying to adjust to a different lifestyle, and it's VERY hard sometimes. Lots of tears. Anyway, does FM do damage to muscles, soft tissue, joints etc.? I know it hurts very bad and I get swelling and discolored joints, but does it actually do permanent damage? I'm also confused as to if this is an autoimmune disease, rheumatic condition, arthritus, etc. Can anyone help me out here. It's funny, you get diagnosed, but so far no doctor out of about 15 have actually sat me down and explained what FM is and what to expect. Maybe because they don't know???
  2. mindbender

mindbender New Member

NO it doesn't cause permanent damage,... according to Doctors.

I worried so much about this also, so I checked it out as much as possible.

The bottom line, No, no permanent damage

I'm also confused as to if this is an autoimmune disease, rheumatic condition, arthritus, etc.

That of course was your question, I think it's a rheumatic condition, arthritus is a hole other issue but many of us have this also.

Seems to me it is autoimmune and rheumatic.
    [This Message was Edited on 03/14/2007]
  3. Dodgechick26

Dodgechick26 New Member

Supposidly no...

But We recently foundout that my mom has fibromyalgia too. She has osteoarthritis and osteoperosis now too.

I wonder if all those years of muscles tighning, damaged her joints. And of course it is suggested that the body lacks magnesium or someting and to replace it takes the calcium from your bones. Makes you wonder! And she arthritis in her hips and knees, and the osteoperosis in her hip...suprise surprise.
  4. Dodgechick26

Dodgechick26 New Member