Does FM get worse?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Fransmom, Mar 12, 2007.

1. Fransmom

Fransmom New Member

I'm new to FM -diagnosed last week by my PCP, but I suspected it was FM/RA or something for the last year. I have seen on the board how horrible this disease can be, and I'm wondering if everyone started with only some pain and it's gotten worse over time. So far, I've never been bedridden because of pain, I'm tired during periods of the day, but can still function reasonably well, and for much of the time if I take my Ultram for pain and Elivil(sp?) at night most days are okay - just background noise.

Am I going to get worse? Will I not be able to work? Did any of you experience my types of symptoms at this level? I've read about the excruciating pain that many suffer and I guess I'm wondering if that is my future. Thanks for any responses - I'm sending gentle hugs to all of who who've been sharing your stories on the other post - can't remember the title - today.

Eileen
  2. TerryS

TerryS Member

Hi Eileen!

I started out over 30 years ago with mild to moderate "aches" throughout my extremities. These increased over time, but still nothing that painful, more annoying.

Then, just this past fall, I had a horrible FATIGUE crash which, I guess, somehow exacerbated the FM and caused terrible excruciating pain throughout my arms, legs, hips, hands, feet. That's when I finally got my diagnosis of FM.

They put me on Lyrica. I think it's helping. At first, the pain completely went away, but I've had a couple of bad flareups of it - neither lasting more than a couple of days.

So, who knows!

I hope your pain stays minimal...

TerryS
  3. cheilluminata

cheilluminata New Member