does your illness consume your conversations?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by charlenef, Oct 24, 2006.

1. charlenef

charlenef New Member

i think because im always looking for an answer anything im talking about ends up about what im going through.im sure people are sick of hearing about this dd. i was just wondering if im the only one charlene
  2. tandy

tandy New Member

But I do try to stop myself as soon as I notice.

I'm sure your right,... ? who wants to hear it all the time! Hardly a minute goes by that I don't feel pain,so I think thats why. We have constant reminders of having FM/CF.
    Its hard to take your mind off something you feel always. but I'm trying~
  3. dononagin

dononagin New Member

at work. I'm a professional and it could effect my job. My close associates know and I've found my assistant covering for me on days I can't remember proper words, you know, finishing sentences for me and such.
    I do try to squelch it with my hubby. He will call and say how are you and it's so easy to say.. I'm tired... I hurt.. My joints ache... etc. Any one would get sick of hearing that day in and out so I try to just say, ok.. How are YOU doing? : )
  4. NyroFan

NyroFan New Member

charlene:

I usually will strike up a conversation with some other patiient in the waiting room of the doctor's. Each one of us will tell the other why we are there and discuss it.

When it comes to others and they ask what is wrong I will just say 'Fibromyalgia' and not comment further.

I learned from my neighbor next to me to be careful about how much I say. As I have written here before she has harassed me over and over again with comments like 'Still sick?', 'Aren't you ever going to get better', 'Why don't you do something for yourself'.

I can not even stand looking at the woman.

nyrofan
  5. painintheeverywhere

painintheeverywhere New Member