Doubling up on meds due to mindfog = DANGEROUS.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RedHeadEMT, Dec 6, 2006.

1. RedHeadEMT

RedHeadEMT New Member

Recently, I was involved in a really bad accident. I'm an EMT, working on an ambulance. We were responding to a call and making a turn at a big intersection, on a green light mind you, when a semi-truck rammed into the side of the ambulance.

Needless to say, since the accident (I was the one driving the ambulance at the time) I have had to deal with some pretty terrible back/neck issues. It has also really caused my Fibro and RSD to flare up, almost on a constant level.

SO, my pain doc rxed me SOMA to take when I am having a really rough time. I usually take flexeril for muscle spasms and it works very well for me, just for my FMS/RSD issues, but not well enough for my back/neck when they have gone into spasms.

He is very liberal with me when he rx'es any pain meds/muscle relaxants. I have been with him for over 2 years now and he really trusts me, as much as I trust him. However, with the SOMA, he said that he did not like to rx it to many people, but since it seems to be the only thing that helps my clenched, angry muscle spasms...

He gave me 30 pills with no refills and told me to try and take it only when I really need it.

I'm really close to his MA and she recently told me that he is trying to ween every pt off, that has been taking SOMA regularly. He feels that it is extremely powerful (and for him to say that-it really must be!) hypno-med. I guess recently, he had a pt die when she forgot that she had already taken her dose, and doubled the dose by taking another one. I guess she was kinda dependent on it and he had been desperately tryin to get her off, as she was a new pt and came in having been on the stuff for years and years now.