Drug Dose & Timing/Dosage Abbreviations

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by LittleBluestem, Apr 10, 2006.

1. LittleBluestem

LittleBluestem New Member

What does "t.i.d." mean, as in “at the daily dose of 1.5 mg t.i.d.”?

[This Message was Edited on 04/11/2006]
  2. 69mach1

69mach1 New Member

bid is two times a day....used for medication

jodie
  3. kjfms

kjfms Member

...I studied these in school for medical coding. I thought this list might help a few people. It has helped me to review these as well...so thanks for posting the question LittleBluestem.

Sorry everyone I tried my best to make this easy to read...

Abbreviation----Latin phrase--------English translation

a.c.------------ante cibum----------before meals

b.i.d.----------bis in die----------twice a day

h.--------------hora----------------hour

h.s.------------hora somni----------at bedtime

n.p.o.----------nil per os----------nothing by mouth

n.r.------------non repetatur-------do not repeat

o.d.------------omni die------------every day

p.c.------------post cibum----------after meals

p.o.------------per os--------------by mouth

p.r.n.----------pro re nata---------as needed

q.--------------quaque--------------every

q.d.------------quaque die----------every day

q.h.------------quaque hora---------every hour

q.i.d.----------quarter in die------four times a day

q.4h.-----------quaque 4 hora-------every four hours (or whatever number the physician puts here 6, 3, 8, etc...) :)

t.i.d.----------ter in die----------three times a day

u.d.------------ut dictum-----------as directed

Always follow your physician's directions-if you are not sure please ask your physician for more specific instructions that is what they are there for...to help you (us).

Thanks,

Karen

[This Message was Edited on 07/03/2006]
  4. cistesmom

cistesmom New Member