Duragesic patch and guai

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by seaview, Mar 18, 2003.

1. seaview

seaview New Member

I am going to my doctor next week(I can only see him every 3 months) and I want to ask to try another pain med. I have been using vicodin daily for 3 years and it just isn't working anymore. He already said he will not give me any stronger meds but I keep seeing this patch mentioned and I can't find out what is in it. If you know what it is and if it would be ok with the guai protocol please let me know.I have alot to try and cover on this visit but the main thing is getting the pain under control. Local pain doc was of no help ....he doesnt use narcotics. I may have to go to big city if this doctor won't help me. I am so exhausted from the pain and fatigue that goes with it.I so appreciate any info you may know.......Kathleen
  2. Shirl

Shirl New Member

I don't take Guai or use the patch, but am just bumping your post up, it was on the second page, this board is moving like a train lately.

I sure hope you get some help soon, you sound like you are feeling so bad. Take care, and lots of luck with the doctor.

Shalom, Shirl
  3. seaview

seaview New Member

bumping up
  4. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

I am so sorry that you have been in so much pain. Do you think it's the Guai causing it? You can always cut down on the dose if you need to for a while until your system gets caught up a little.

Ask your doc for a list of the ingredients. Duragesic is a synthetic substance, Fentanyl, so at least it doesn't contain any botanicals, but that doesn't necessarily mean it doesn't contain sals. Usually, though, if a substance contains sals, it appears somewhere in the name, although, Fentanyl probably isn't the chemical name of the substance. If your doc cannot help you, ask the pharmacist or e-mail Claudie at Dr. St. Amand's website.

Good luck and I hope you can get some relief for your pain.

Love, Mikie

5. obrnlc

obrnlc New Member