Ever Wonder Why Your Phone Doesn't Ring

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MJJBunny, Aug 19, 2003.

1. MJJBunny

MJJBunny New Member

I was thinking about this the other day and realized that nearly all the relationships I had prior to my need to stop working have disappeared.

People that I saw everyday for ten years never bothered to call. People that I thought of as close friends are gone. Then there are the relatives who don't understand. I don't want to talk to them.

The reason that my phone doesn't ring is that I no longer bother to initiate any friendships. They are too draining. I barely talk to neighbors and only do so when I have to. I have my husband who supports me 100%+ and I consider myself so lucky to have him.

Does your phone ring?
  2. Adl123

Adl123 New Member

You are so right! When I first stopped working I lost my best friend (She was tired, too.), and soon my other friends stopped calling. One teacher friend (I was a teacher) and one student friend have remained constant. I have no husband, so I am very grateful for them , as I am my 2 dogs and a cat. I have since moved into the mountains, the only place I can afford to live, and have met some people, and one may become a friend. She is a compassionate person. My old student is still a friend, and the old teacher, though we seldome speak. I find I just keep away from people who don't understand, and from social situations, because I am just too weak. I am sorry you are going through this, also. God bless our husband, and you, too. Keep your chin up. Terry
  3. IgotYou

IgotYou New Member