Excercise and FM/CFIDS

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RLCarter03, Jun 8, 2003.

1. RLCarter03

RLCarter03 New Member

I have recently been told by my rheumy that I should do at least 20 minutes of aerobic exercise 3 times a week. She suggested walking. My heart rate is unusually high. I am a housekeeping business owner, so I work very hard and am usually in almost intolerable pain all the time. I am willing to do the walking, but am wondering about doing some strength training. I get advice to do it and advice against doing it as I am told it could really flare the CFIDS. I have lost about 25 pounds in the last few months and am now doing a high carb, high calorie program to gain back some of the weight. Doctors have been absolutely no help to me...as most of us know, I think. So, as I try to gain the weight I would also like to tone back up, because I have lost so much muscle mass. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you and blessings to all of my fellow sufferers.
  2. Annette2

Annette2 New Member

I try to walk on the treadmill at least 3 times a week. It helps stretch my muscles and raises my endorphines too. I've done MILD strength training. If you do this, you can't do it every day, you need to do it every other day. Also, you need to start very slowly and with light weights. If you can, I would advise you to get a trainer, at least once, to show you the proper way to use the weights. Tell him/her that you have fibromyalgia and what your most painful areas are. I hope this works out for you!

Annette2
  3. klutzo

klutzo New Member