Exercising with fibro

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MargaretOB, Oct 27, 2006.

1. MargaretOB

MargaretOB New Member

Hi all, this is my first time here. I've got fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue and rheumatoid arthritis, among a host of other problems. Haven't been able to work in over 6 years and I really need to loose some weight.

Have a question for you. I have been trying to walk everyday and as the weather is getting colder here, I find my muscles or tendons in my legs are like rubber bands, getting tighter and more painful when I go outside. Just dealing with the fatigue when I walk is hard enough, but the pain gets to where it lasts all afternoon.

Does anybody have any tips on how to deal with this? I was thinking I might look for pants made of gortex on the outside and cotton on the inside, with the idea of keeping the cold out but also keeping the sweat off of my skin. Sometimes it seems like I forgot how to walk...

Thanks,
    Margaret
  2. lovethesun

lovethesun New Member

but I get a slight wind and my muscles tense up.Linda
  3. suz45

suz45 New Member

Hi Margaret:

Big welcome to the board, sorry we meet under these circumstances, but you have come to the right place for support, and sharing ideas or just when your having a bad day and need a shoulder(there are many here).

Regarding your post, I walk and do yoga as my back will not allow for other sports (well maybe swimming). I use close fitting walking tights that you would wear under loose nylon or cotton walking pants. Keep the legs warm, but if you are sweating or in the rain resists moisture.

They can be a bit pricey, but I usually catch a sale a the local sporting dept. I also wear them alone in the house for yoga.