Eye problems with fibromyalgia

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dsk820, Feb 28, 2006.

1. dsk820

dsk820 New Member

Hello--I'm new to this message board. My sister has had fibromyalgia for more than a year now, and one of the problems that's affecting her the most is her eyes. She hasn't been able to read since last spring, and her eyes are constantly in pain. She was wondering if anyone had any suggestions of things that helped them with fibromyalgia-related eye problems. Thank you very much for your attention!
  2. Cindi

Cindi New Member

They constantly burn and ache all the time. It also seems that my eyesight is constantly changing. I can't see much at all without my glasses.

I've attributed the burning to Sjogren's Syndrome, and use eyedrops for this. It helps some. I figured that my eyesight changing had to do with age. I'm 46, and have been wearing progressive bifocals for a few years.

I'm not really sure if eye problems are very common with Fibro. I hope that others on here will share their experiences. I would suggest that your sister get a complete eye exam, though, and discuss her concerns with her doctor. If she gets any answers, I'd love to hear what the doctor says, so please post!

Take care,
    ~Cindi~

3. Mamalovinit

Mamalovinit New Member

I can have a lot of eye trouble. Have her make sure through a doctor it is not something else. I did just that but mine is the fibro. I would have swore I was loosing my sight. Went to the doctor and he said they are fine. I don't even need glasses. Go figure because after reading a book for a bit my eyes hurt become blurry and I can hardly focus on a person let alone words. I have no help for you but do sympathize.

M
  4. musikmaker

musikmaker New Member

I have fibro and it changes my vision almost daily. At times I get tunnel vision. Light sensitivity is common also.
  5. SherylD

SherylD Guest