Falling asleep at Inappropriate times???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Justlearning, May 3, 2012.

1. Justlearning

Justlearning New Member

Hi, there. I'm new to all this, and won't bore you with how I think Fibro targetted me. I'm just trying to figure out what works and what doesn't. Would love any feedback on my experience.

I was on 300 mg. of Lyrica. I noticed some weight gain around the middle, but put it down to menopause. Lyrica also knocked me on my butt in terms of fatigue. I'm now down to 75 mg and will stop that as well because I'm not sure I feel a difference in muscle pain now vs. 300 mg. Can anyone comment on their Lyrica experience? What about Cymbalta? (very different drugs, I know).

Secondly, obviously the fatigue is profound, but every day some time between 11 a.m. and 12:30 p.m., I find myself falling asleep in front of the computer briefly -- my eyes are burning so bad and I'm so tired that I can't stay awake. However, usually the scalding hot tea I'm drinking wakes me up when it splashes over my body. Anyone else had the falling asleep sitting up thing?

I've heard the term "Fibro Flares" quite a bit. Does that imply that you get some relief until the next round of fatigue and pain come along?

Right now, I'm unemployed and actively looking because I quit my job 2 years ago to care for my mom because she has lung cancer. A year later, she seemed ok for the time being, so I've been actively and aggressively looking and I'm still unemployed a year later. The stress of not working and of my mom's illness probably inspired to Fibro to come out to play.

Sorry -- one more question! Does it ever get worse? Or do different people have it in varying degrees?

Thank you so much for listening and for your reply (I hope).

2. Gee1

Gee1 New Member

Yes, I had to stop Lyrica for fibro pain, as it just increased fatigue, found myself falling asleep in the afternoon, on a very low dose even.