Familiy Understanding

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by bowmanhaus, Jan 10, 2009.

1. bowmanhaus

bowmanhaus New Member

Last night my wife did all but tell me that she hates me and who I have become since I have been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. I love her and I love my two children and that was truly like someone shoved a dagger straight through my heart. I am the only source of income for our family and I just don't know how much longer I can carry that burden as badly as I want to and feel obligated to...This disease is slowly taking everything that I am and that I love in life. I used to be a martial arts instructor, guitarist, outdoorsman, etc. But now it's just all I can do to get through the day and make enough money to pay our bills. Being anyone with fibro is hard enough, but being a man with fibro is insane! Everyone thinks your a whiner and just looking for attention or a disability check. I stopped even mentioning that fibro is what I have going on and started calling it arthritis due to the stigma attached to fibro. I realize that there are people out there that do say they have fibro just to get a disability check and for the attention and to those people I can say STOP, You are making people that actually have it suffer even more and totally ruining our already weak credibility! This is real pain...NOT imagined!!!
  2. 3gs

3gs New Member

I am so sorry for the pain you are going through and the misunderstanding from family.

It is very hard on our loved ones and I sure your wife didn't meaan she hated you she hates the Fibro. Have you had her read any of the info on the board? The letter that Im giving out to family is called The Thief of Lives it listed here on ways to explain fibro and cfs.

Call it Fibro so people get educated. Only way we will get anywhere.
    Not sure how anyone can fake this to get disability.

Keep posting we understand. best of luck
  3. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member