Feeling sick and need some advice before Dr. Appt.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by goofgirl, Mar 31, 2007.

1. goofgirl

goofgirl New Member

Hi everyone,

I just registered on this website and already the posts I've read so far have been really interesting and informative. Can anyone please give me advice on how I should approach my doctor about CFS? I have been researching CFS because I have felt terribly ill for about six months. I had minor surgery (foot) last July and starting around the end of September, I began getting many colds, infections, etc. I have had at least 3 periods of SEVERE exhaustion, i.e. sleeping for days and not feeling rested. In between these periods, I have maybe a good week, then I go to the gym and start doing more in general and then once again, feel fatigued and come down with what feels like a cold/flu. I seem to frequently have a sore throat, achey neck and painful lymph node on one side of my neck. I went to the doctor in November, December and January; each time I was told to take my vitamins, exercise and eat better, that it was just viral. I have tried to improve my diet, take vitamins and get adequate rest, but I'm afraid to start exercising again. Twice I was prescribed antibiotics for 1) ear infection 2) sinus infection. Here it is the end of March and I just spent a week off of work, three days in bed, and my achy throat and headache are back. I just turned 30 and feel like my life is starting to pass me by since I've been sick.