Fibro and Atkins

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MsBrandywine, Aug 8, 2003.

1. MsBrandywine

MsBrandywine Member

Has anyone with Fibro.. tried the Atkins.. Low carb diet?
    My husband and I are following the program and so far hes lost 20 lbs.. Ive lost 15.. ( why do men lose faster)
    anyways.. just wanted to let you know that I do feel somewhat better since following the program.

Plus taking good vitamins plus Citracal with magnesium has helped alot too..
    just wanted to add some good news.. hopefully it works for anyone else who tries folloing the same plan.

Although, I did have a heck of a time on the induction with feeling totally wiped out and feeling faint but once I learned to keep protein with me and not wait too long to eat.. I felt much better..
    just a FYI..
    Hugs
    Debbi~
  2. Suze

Suze New Member

I've been eating low-carb (and low-saturated fat) for eight years. The induction period was hard for me, too—I was in a bad mood for weeks, if not months—but I clearly do better without carbs. Today I will occasionally eat bread (if it's very good), but no sugar in eight years, and thank heavens I no longer crave it!

Thanks to ditching the carbs, my triglycerides fell from a dangerous 547 to a normal 100 or so.

Suze
  3. MsBrandywine

MsBrandywine Member

Im so glad your blood work come back so good!.. mine did too.. Dont have the paperwork here in front of me but my total cholesterol went from 356 to 257.. everything changed so much.. my Dr was so impressed.. its still high but nothing like it was.. plus with my thyroid.. its harder to lose..
    When I first started she said to go to Weight Watchers.. well they are a good program but..right now with my hubby having to retire and its too dang expensive for me at this time..