Fibro and sensory overload

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sk8enscars, Nov 27, 2008.

1. sk8enscars

sk8enscars New Member

I apologize if there are other posts already about this. I tried using the search and it's ticking me off so I'm just going to ask. Is sensory overload common with fibro? I get really irritable to the point where I probably look like a psycho when there's too much going on. I just want to close my eyes, cover my ears and scream and run away. Such as being in the car with my husband driving out of DC. I can't not look at the road because I'm afraid of unexpected moves. When it's really busy I can't stand to have too much noise or other things to look at. My brain feels so overloaded to the point I take it out on my husband and get aggravated at him. I know this isn't a great example but I'm drawing a blank now. I'm a music teacher in DC so that doesn't help because there's always a million things going on. I just stand there staring sometimes while my kids spiral out of control because I can't get my brain to do something.

If this is a fibro thing, does anybody have any metaphors or stories that might help someone without it understand the sensory overload aspect? Thanks!
  2. TeaBisqit

TeaBisqit Member

It's one of my worst symptoms. I can no longer be around alot of people because of it and stores kill me. It's too much input, sights, sounds, smells. The brain just can't take it all in or filter it out properly. This is a big reason I stay alone so much.
  3. hensue

hensue New Member

I could not even imagine the stress and noise alone from kids at school. then music talk about overload. that would have to be one of the worst sensory at school!
    i love kids dont get me wrong i have a sister who teaches and she is nuts! she knows it i told her i would be too! she calls sometime during lunch and i heard the kids in the background and told her know wonder her nerves are shot. She doesnt fibro!