Fibro doc needed in Nashville, TN area -

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Jokerette, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Jokerette

Jokerette New Member

Found other posts here, but nothing since '07. I am a newbie here - a friend from another board, knowing my situation, searched and found a thread here that was perfect: yet so very old :(

Was diagnosed 15 yrs ago. At same time I have severe colitis - hospitalized every now and then for the pain/and fluid loss.

Here is a list of what I have tried so far:

toradol-no result

tramadol no result except to set off colitis

ultram no result

lyrica no result except sleep better, side effects were intolerable: fuzzy vision and constant nausea

neurontin no results except again the nausea

naproxin very minor relief

celebrex set off the colitis quite badly. No result

Feidene-small amount of relief again. Not enough to get her out of bed
    (This list was written by my doctor, referring me to a rheumy.)

After going to umpteen docs 15 years ago, I simply gave up: had done research, realized that 'getting better' wasn't going to happen. I had found meds that actually worked, but couldn't get them and couldn't understand why.

Live your entire life in bed? I don't think so - so I decided to end it. Before taking such a step, I decided to consult a psychiatrist I had seen after my divorce.

He got all the records from all the docs I'd seen, and put me on meds himself. It worked - not perfectly, but I had some life back. Walked, etc.

Then a year ago the fibro worsened, badly, for no reason. My current doc wanted to up my meds but is unable to write such a script (again, don't get why.) He wanted to send me to other docs - again. After that first nightmare 15 years ago - "It's all in your head," "You're just a druggie," "Nothing wrong with you that exercise and asperin won't cure..." I just couldn't see doing this again.