Fibromyalgia and Excercise

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by marlew2000, Sep 2, 2005.

1. marlew2000

marlew2000 New Member

I'm new to trying to understand fibromyalgia. How important is excercise in controlling its effect on your life AND are you limited as to types of excercise and duration by fibromyalgia?
  2. PepperGirl52

PepperGirl52 New Member

Before I knew exactly what was wrong with me, I went out and bought an above ground pool. And when I felt a flare (didn't know what it was at the time, just felt crummy!), I would swim for about 30 minutes and it helped me tremendously!!

I also have a degenerating spine, so I am limited with the type of exercises I can do.

But low-impact exercise is imperitive to those of us with fibro. Now, if you have chronic fatigue, too, you MUST see your doc first and talk to him/her about starting anything. In any case, it's always a good idea to get a thumbs up from your doc.

I try to walk for about half hour every morning, then later, when it's warmer, I'll swim until my body tells me I've done enough. Those are 2 really good, low impact exercises. My PT also had me doing a stationery bike, and I have one that my daughter bought me for Christmas.

Releasing endorphins, which is what we do when we exercise, is a great natural pain reliever, as well as stress reliever! I highly recommend it! Good luck! PG
  3. louiesgirl2

louiesgirl2 New Member

I have a rebounder which I find very helpful and low impact. I do not go above board with it and stop when I feel winded. I can do it while I am watching TV with my DH
  4. Jodi_B

Jodi_B New Member

When I was newly diagnosed (19 years ago), my Rheumi. told me to walk "30 minutes every day...both for the general conditioning and to help in promoting rest." Yah, right! 30 minutes??? I had so much pain and fatigue that just getting through a work day was more than I could handle!