Fibromyalgia and Excercise

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by marlew2000, Sep 2, 2005.

1. marlew2000

marlew2000 New Member

I'm new to trying to understand fibromyalgia. How important is excercise in controlling its effect on your life AND are you limited as to types of excercise and duration by fibromyalgia?
  2. 123sandra

123sandra New Member

Exercise. If you can do it then have a go, if you can't then don't!! I did it and did everything they asked me to do like a good little girl. I think I was still in denial and didn't like the 'new' limitations I had, ( Was always fit ) unfortunately it didn't do me any good! I had to accept that I could no longer do 'everyday' things and ask for help if I needed it. Once you do that you will know what you are capable of and don't push yourself or you will pay later, I found that out myself.
    Good luck.
    LOL
    Sandra
  3. tngirl

tngirl New Member

I can only speak for myself but I think exercising is important.

Having said that, it can be overdone, and then I pay for it!
    It has been hard for me to learn what is best for me.

I like water exercise and walking the best. Sometimes I do a Walkaway the pounds video. I have to modify the arm movements, because of pain in my shoulders.

I also do stretching and strengthening exercises.

I started out slowly. I now aim for 45 minutes. Sometimes my body allows me to do it all at once, and sometimes I break it up into smaller segments and repeat it during the day.
  4. cjcookie

cjcookie New Member

to me about how important exercise is. He also said he understood how hard it was for us. He told me to try to work up to walking a half hour each day. Even if it took weeks or months - anything would help.

I had worked up to 30 leg lifts a day and that helped tremendously. Then, I got really sick with an upper respiratory infection and ear infection and now am back to square one. Having such trouble with my hip and leg that I can only do about three now.