Fibromyalgia and Work

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by pearls, Dec 31, 2002.

1. pearls

pearls New Member

For the past 2½ years, I've been struggling with my fibromyalgia while I contine to work. I am a California fourth grade teacher. Even for healthy teachers the job is too much. In my school, our workload has gotten heavier and heavier for the past five years. This year our district decreed that we have to be on the job an additional 45 minutes per day and our supevision duties have increased to at least twice as much as last year - this in spite the fact it is against our contract (the grievance mills grind slowly). The paperwork load continues to grow. There has been no respite in other aspects of the job. There are a number of teachers suffering physically and I've even noticed some of my doctors commenting about the number of teachers having problems. Under these circumstances, I've found it extremely difficult to work and care for myself properly.

My question: can a person with fibromyalgia in a situation like mine push herself so much that the fibromyalgia becomes too far advanced to "recover?" In other words, can my job make it so recovery to an acceptable level becomes too difficult?
  2. Kathryn

Kathryn New Member

I can't give you a scientific answer, but I am pretty sure that is what I did to myself. I used to be a city bus driver until last August, when the combination of fog & pain became more than I could handle. I had been forcing myself to continue working since about 1990. I am now at he point where a good day now is about the same as a bad day 10 years ago. I am hopeful that since I am no longer working, I will start to have a few more days of little discomfort, but who can say? I do believe, and literature supports this, that we tend to be over achievers. Hope you find yourself in remission soon.
    Kathryn
  3. annl

annl New Member