Finally told work I am sick

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by DoveL, Oct 4, 2006.

1. DoveL

DoveL Member

Hey there..

I posted a few weeks ago, how I went back to work, after not working for 5 years!! I have been working part-time for the last 6 months..(it is a struggle with FMS/CFS)..

Well, they have been pressuring me SOOO much to work full-time, and asking 'why' why' why', SOOOOO FINALLY I said "I cannot work because I have a chronic illness, CFS/FMS...

Oddly enough, they knew what it was!!! I did not go into details, but said, that it makes it hard for me to work on a full-time basis, and that I did not want everyone in the office to know, and I don't want to mention it again, because I don't want to be a 'complainer', or tell everyone my sob story....I hope I said, and did the right thing??? AND I hope they truly understand. I hate to be considered a 'loafer'....On the other hand, I hope they are not mad because I did not tell them sooner. I would never tell anyone on an interview, or they would 'discriminate and not hire me'.

BTW, they probably like me so much because not only am I a great worker, BUT also, I work for 'a poor man's wage'.!! YIKES...how depressing. Such is life...I will keep you all posted how it goes.

CHEERS!

DOVE

2. DoveL

DoveL Member

3. EllenComstock

EllenComstock New Member

especially since they kept pressuring you as to why you couldn't work full-time. It's great that they know what FMS/CFIDS is. I told the professors I work for as sometimes I have to take off for appts. or not feeling well, although this school year I've only taken off a couple of hours for some tests at the hospital so far. Like you, I don't want to make a big deal out of it. I don't think the work place is the place to do this. I try to work doctor appts. around my work schedule since I only work mornings five days a week.

I agree with the other lady who responded. They must like you to want you full-time. Too bad it doesn't pay better!