Fireman Needs Help

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by fireman1000, Oct 20, 2005.

1. fireman1000

fireman1000 New Member

I'm a 45 yr old firefighter who had a very severe chronic infection that led to mastoiditis and surgery followed by weeks of daily IV antibiotics. I felt tired all last winter and the infection started in Feb and was extreme in April. I've been out of work since the end of April. I started to improve in August but started having aches and pains and soon afterward, chronic fatigue. It's like the worst case of flu I've ever had X 10. I'm seeing an alternative doc now and he checked and I do have an active Epstein Barr virus and he's trying chelation therapy. I do see a little improvement, but I'm getting very discouraged and have no quality of life at the moment. I'm open to any suggestions and I live in TN if anyone can suggest any doctors or centers. I've also taken every supplement I've read about with hardly any improvement.
    Thanks
  2. goaska29

goaska29 New Member

Fireman-

You should check out www.fibroandfatigue.com. I have my first appt at the Philly FFC on Tues. You can also search FFC on these boards, lots of people have tried them out.

GoAskAlice
  3. JLH

JLH New Member

I really can't help you, but I'm sure someone will be able to.

Here is some info that I copied from an old post for you about CFS:

-----

Self treating is a trial and error method. Some of us have done really well with it, others, not so much.

If you are taking medications you should always check to see if there are any supplement/herb/drug interactions. Here is one site with information....

http://www.umm.edu/altmed/

Herbs and supplements can cause herxing, side effects, and you need to research them before you take them. Sometimes when asked for suggestions, I hesitate, knowing that I'm not all that familiar with each persons particular situation, symptoms, med use, diet, etc.