FM diagnosed by Cymbalta?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by cwstuart, Aug 6, 2008.

1. cwstuart

cwstuart New Member

I'm very new to FM and CFS, and have gone to a Internal medicine doctor who has decided that since my only 2 blood tests showing out of normal range are the ANA and C-reactive protein, that she wants me to try Cymbalta and if that "fixes" my problems then she'll diagnosis me with FM. Is this common doctoring process when diagnosising FM? Or should I see a rheumatologist and get a more educated diagnosis instead of going the route of diagnosing through drug treatment? Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
  2. justjanelle

justjanelle New Member

There are plenty of people here who have been definitely diagnosed with FM but who were not helped at all by the Cymbalta. And I think at least a few found the side-effects of the medication to be intolerable.

The Cymbalta is not a guaranteed fix for those with FM -- and neither is it a diagnostic tool!

My diagnosis was from a rheumatologist. The problem is trying to find one who treats FM, as quite a few do not. So you may need to do some calling around to find one. They should discuss your full range of symptoms and also do the "tender points test" which you can find out more on if you Google it.

Best wishes,
  3. Pansygirl

Pansygirl New Member

FM is not diagnosed by Cymbalta.

My primary doctor is who diagnosed me. I did try cymbalta but I had burning in my stomach so I am unable to take it due to previous stomach issues.

There is not one drug that fixes FM. We are all different and what works for one may not work for another.
    I haven't found any drugs that totally take my pain away but the drugs do help to reduce my pain which is a big help.

Take care, Susan

4. Crispangel66

Crispangel66 New Member

All I know is what I have been through, my dr. put me on

Cymbalta only because of depression I don't believe that