FMLA Question

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by jmq, Feb 22, 2007.

1. jmq

jmq New Member

This is my first year dealing with really really bad symptoms of FMS but I am still working. I am on FMLA and I am afraid to ask my HR office too many questions. I think the more I confide in them..the more vulnerable I am. Maybe its my fog and depression that is talking. Well, my confusion stems from the fact that my employer had me use all my sick time and then docked my annual time . Now I ran out of both and I will now be docked my pay for days I come in late or have drs appts. What then does FMLA do for me? I know it protects me from getting fired...but I thought it was also a way to have your time protected? Can you start to apply for any disability while I am working. i feel like I am in a catch 22 and my brain cant figure out what to do. Does anyone have advise?
  2. lptopcat

lptopcat New Member

I use intermittant FMLA where I work. My understanding is that an employer does not have to pay wages for time taken off under FMLA, but the time used is considered an "excused" absence, so they can't say my attendance is unacceptable.

Each employer is different in how they implement FMLA.

This is one of the questions re: FMLA from "elaw":

Q: Does the law guarantee paid time off?

No. The FMLA only requires unpaid leave. However, the law permits an employee to elect, or the employer to require the employee, to use accrued paid leave, such as vacation or sick leave, for some or all of the FMLA leave period. When paid leave is substituted for unpaid FMLA leave, it may be counted against the 12-week FMLA leave entitlement if the employee is properly notified of the designation when the leave begins.

You can find more info here:http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/statutes/whd/fmla.htm

I hope this helps.

Theresa
  3. Shalala

Shalala New Member