FMLA question

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Manwithfibro, May 29, 2010.

1. Manwithfibro

Manwithfibro New Member

I was working full-time until my fibro went into a massive flare with full blown lymph pain following a strep infection. I am now back part time (my choice to doctor as doctor would have had me stay out longer) and am getting pressure to get back to full time. What happens if I just can't do full time anymore? Am I fired?

2. HeavenlyRN

HeavenlyRN New Member

I went on full short time disability in December. Prior to that I had missed a lot of work: a day here, 2 days there, etc. I was told by the employee health nurse that I could take my FMLA any way I wanted it. The full shot all at once, or.......a day here ,2 days there, a week here, 2 weeks there, 2 hours for a doctor appointment, etc.

The problem was that I was a hospice nurse and worked on a team of 15 nurses. If I just decided that I couldn't make it one day, they would have to pick up the slack for me. I decided just to go on disability instead of making them suffer (plus......I really needed to NOT be working at the time due to pain issues).

So, to answer your question: I guess it depends on the type of job you have. But, legally you can do as I described above.

Hope this helps. And....just to be sure I'm not pointing you in the direction, check with your Human Resources Department.
  3. Manwithfibro

Manwithfibro New Member

For example, the disability people keep calling me non-stop and tell me that they have to monitor my situation. They ask stuff like "why aren't I seeing a Rheumatologist?" and my Dept. Manager keeps asking "what type of doctor is this that has you out?", basically implying that
    a family doctor is not qualified enough. Makes me think that the disability people told the Dept. Manager to probe. I am starting to get mad because if they only knew how hard I am trying and how much I is really tough with a chronic condition.
  4. HeavenlyRN