For my Fibro Peeps: Why exercise really CAN help you feel better!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by satchya, Jul 21, 2009.

1. satchya

satchya New Member

You guys know I'm studying for my AFAA group exercise fitness instructor certification exam in September. I'm going to teach kids cardio dance classes. I've been learning so much about how the body works, muscles, joints, energy systems, cardiorespiratory system, etc. It's not only fascinating, but it's really helping me sort through and make sense of what is happening in my body with having fibromyalgia.

I've been reading a lot on here about dopamine and pain and I know that the most recent research about fibro really points in the direction of dopamine issues playing a large role in why we cannot regulate pain sensations correctly in our bodies. I know that for me this makes a great deal of sense because over the past couple of years I have felt like I was "addicted" to going to the gym, even when I knew I would be very sore later because while I was exercising the pain would go completely away, and for an hour or so afterwards I would feel incredible, even, dare I say, normal?? :)

This new research makes sense to me. Here is an article I found that explains how dopamine and serotonin, etc., are effected by exercise:

Low to moderate intensity exercise can make people like us with dopamine issues feel normal, as well as improving mood. Endorphins, serotonin, and dopamine all play a role in this.