Forgiveness How do I start?

Discussion in 'Spirituality/Worship' started by Elisa, Oct 11, 2007.

1. Elisa

Elisa Member

I would like to ask all of you a question about forgiveness.

How do I start? And if the person/people do not repent - does that mean I still forgive?

What does God say about forgiveness? I know some wise people on this board tell me that forgiveness does not necessarily mean reconciliation.

I am struggling with this issue and do not want to put myself in harms way in order to forgive. I have explained my situation in a few other posts.

Also I am in need of a Christian counselor (if anyone knows how I can find one let me know). I thought I could deal with a troubling family issue - but I am not succeeding.

Thank you to all of you who have been so supportive to me I am grateful - without your voices I would have been lost!

Elisabeth
    [This Message was Edited on 10/18/2007]
  2. jinlee

jinlee Member

I am no expert about forgiveness, just will say what helped me. I had reason to not forgive but discovered how much not forgiving was keeping my abusers tied to me and preventing me from healing.

I had to somehow forgive people who had done abuses over 40 years' time and that is hard to give up the anger and bitterness I had collected.

What really helped me was someone who counseled to, for instance, see my mother as a woman, not my mother. I then was able to relate to why she did what she did. I did not change her attitude but it sure changed mine. I forgave, did not excuse her actions but released me from all the anger and some of the hurt.

I find it takes some time to forgive, sometimes weekly I have to forgive again. Again, forgiveness does not mean involvement with the person or saying it was alright what they did.

I have to believe that God will judge these people and punish them better than I could and for longer.