Gabitril????????

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Helen233, Aug 31, 2003.

1. Helen233

Helen233 New Member

Hi Everybody,
    I am fairly new to reading this board, Not new to Fibromyalgia, I was dx'd about 8 years ago and was on Zoloft 5omg and Flexeril 10mg at night, I had been feeling just okay, not great but hanging in there. I recently saw a rheumatologist after not seeing one for 5 years. The Rheumatologist prescribed gabitril 2 mg at night. Does anyone have any opinions on this and what it does and how it works. Also on Lexapro.

Thanks alot!
  2. Pindooca

Pindooca New Member

I was prescribed Gabatril about 6 weeks ago. I started at 2mg in the morning and 4mg at night and I'm now on 4mg in the morning and 8mg at night. When I researched the medication I was surprised to find it listed as an anti-seizure medication. However, I have been assured that it's not uncommon for it to be prescribed for Fibromyalgia. If you do a search on "Gabatril" you can view old posts about it too.

Does it work? Well, to be honest, I'm not sleeping well. I used to be on Elavil (Gabatril replaced it) and I slept much better on Elavil. These days, it takes me 1-3 hours to fall asleep. I usually sleep about 90 mins then I'm in a funky asleep/awake state where I'm looking at the clock every 5 mins or so until morning. My Fibro pain (especially neck and thoracic region--between shoulder blades) has been quite bad the last few months.

I'm not saying Gabatril doesn't help at all, but it certainly isn't doing for me what one single Elavil did in the past... and I am a little disappointed. My psychiatrist says to give it a few more months. I don't know if I can go that long without sleep, to be honest.

And only 2mg for you at bedtime? Doesn't seem like much of the medication. I'm curious to see if you feel anything at all. Keep us posted!
  3. cookiebaby

cookiebaby New Member